According to a recent GasBuddy study, Sacramento drivers ranked third for the most aggressive in the country. Drivers in this city are more than 20 percent more aggressive than average drivers in the nation.
Aggressive driving puts everyone on the road at risk, so it is important to know how to respond to this type of behavior to avoid being seriously injured in a car accident. If you were injured in an accident that you believe involved aggressive driving, an experienced Sacramento car accident lawyer at our firm can discuss your legal rights and options with you during a free consultation.
The GasBuddy study analyzed data from the Drives feature in the GasBuddy app from Nov 2018 to Feb 2019. This data examines instances of aggressive driving, including speeding, hard braking and accelerating. California came in first as having the most aggressive drivers in the U.S. with an aggressive driving event occurring every 6.6 minutes on average.
The study revealed that drivers in Sacramento were 21 percent more aggressive than the average U.S. driver. Other California cities that made the top 10 list for aggressive drivers include Los Angeles, San Francisco and San Diego.
Aggressive driving is any driving action that endangers or is likely to danger the safety of others. Deliberate behaviors that put others at risk and may meet the definition of aggressive driving include:
Regularly commuting alongside aggressive drivers can be stressful and impact your own driving approach. You can avoid becoming an aggressive driver by giving yourself ample time to reach your destination, avoiding distractions, driving during non-peak traffic hours, and taking a break if you become frustrated.
If you encounter an aggressive driver, follow these tips to stay safe:
California has laws that criminalize certain types of aggressive driving behaviors. The following factors define whether a person is driving aggressively:
A person who drives aggressively in California can be charged with a criminal offense with a maximum penalty of imprisonment up to 90 days and a fine up to $1,000.
California has additional charges for extreme cases of aggressive driving. Vehicles can be classified as deadly weapons if they were used to intentionally injure someone. In these cases, the aggressive driver may be charged with assault with a deadly weapon, a felony charge that can result in imprisonment for up to four years and a fine up to $10,000 (Cal Pen Code § 245 (a)(1)).
Aggressive driving accidents can result in serious injuries or death due to the high speeds or intentional conduct of the at-fault party. If you were injured in an aggressive driving accident, it is important that you contact a dedicated attorney who can explain your rights to you and fight for maximum compensation.
At The Arnold Law Firm, we can evaluate your situation and the damages that you may be able to receive compensation for, such as medical expenses, lost income or earning capacity, property damage, and pain and suffering. We do not charge upfront fees and only get paid if you receive compensation.
Contact our office today by calling (916) 777-7777.
Wrongfully blamed: What really happened to Randy Stevens
Randy Stevens opened his eyes and saw his wife standing over him in a hospital room. He had no idea what had happened. His last memory was of standing next to his truck trailer and watching as a Security Contractor Services forklift driver struggled to load an ungainly pallet of...Learn More
Last winter, a commercial truck and trailer made an abrupt wide turn into the path of a 24-year-old motorcyclist. The resulting collision sent Justin to the hospital with a collapsed lung, multiple fractured bones and a traumatic brain injury.
Justin's mother realized that her son needed legal help. While he was still in a coma...Learn More