Posted on behalf of Arnold Law Firm on Mar 06, 2019 in Auto Accidents
Under a California law that took effect on January 1, 2019, ignition interlock devices (IID) must be installed in the vehicles of those who have been convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) multiple times or just once if injury was involved. The interlock device must remain in the vehicle for a period of 12-48 months.
Commonly known as breathalyzers, IIDs are connected to a vehicle’s engine and detect alcohol on the breath of a driver. If alcohol is detected, the IID prevents the vehicle from starting. The IID also requires “rolling” samples during vehicle operation. If a breath sample fails during operation, it will record the failed test on the device.
While the new requirements took effect at the beginning of this year, the original ignition interlock device (IID) law was actually approved in 2016 (California Senate Bill 1046).
The legislation was introduced as a pilot program in February 2016 and only applied to four counties: Alameda, Los Angeles, Sacramento, and Tulare. The program was extended until July 2018. During the pilot program, DUI offenders in these counties were subject to the conditions that now apply to every driver in the state.
The law says IIDs are required in the following situations:
These changes expire in 2026 unless there are more revisions to the law.
As of July 2018, 32 states and the District of Columbia required the installation of IIDs for all convicted drunk drivers. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) states that requiring or incentivizing the use of IIDs reduces repeat DUI offenses by about 70 percent.
According to Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD), California IIDs have prevented more than one million drinking and driving events since 2010. A report from the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) states that IIDs are 74 percent more effective in preventing repeat DUIs compared to suspending the driver’s licenses of first time DUI offenders. Among second time DUI offenders, IIDs are 70 percent more effective.
Approximately 50 to 75 percent of DUI offenders in California continue to drive illegally after an arrest, and do not join IID or treatment programs. The new IID law aims to incentivize IID use by allowing offenders to gain driving privileges soon after arrest if they comply with restrictions.
There are some who oppose the new law requiring IID installation for DUI offenders. Some say the requirement is too harsh for first-time DUI offenders. Others point out that repeat offenses typically occur more than six months after the first. With IIDs only required for six months following a first offense, opponents argue the devices would not be helpful in deterring repeat DUIs.
Others cite the cost of installation and maintenance and say this creates a financial burden for offenders. IIDs have an estimated monthly cost between $60 and $80 for maintenance.
If you were injured in a car accident caused by a drunk driver, you may be entitled to compensation for your medical bills, lost wages, and pain and suffering. Our Sacramento car accident attorneys can review your claim and inform you of the legal options available to obtain the compensation you deserve.
Request a free, no obligation consultation today. There are no upfront fees. You only pay us if we recover compensation on your behalf.
Wrongfully blamed: What really happened to Randy Stevens
Randy Stevens opened his eyes and saw his wife standing over him in a hospital room. He had no idea what had happened. His last memory was of standing next to his truck trailer and watching as a Security Contractor Services forklift driver struggled to load an ungainly pallet of...Learn More
Last winter, a commercial truck and trailer made an abrupt wide turn into the path of a 24-year-old motorcyclist. The resulting collision sent Justin to the hospital with a collapsed lung, multiple fractured bones and a traumatic brain injury.
Justin's mother realized that her son needed legal help. While he was still in a coma...Learn More